

Statement on behalf of the European Union and its 27 Member States 172<sup>st</sup> Session of the Council of the FAO (24-28 April 2023)

Item 8: Report of the Joint Meeting of the 135th Session of the Programme Committee and 195th Session of the Finance Committee (13 and 15 March 2023)

Mr Chair,

- 1. I am honoured to speak on behalf of the European Union and its 27 Member States.
- 2. The following FAO Members align themselves with this statement: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Iceland, Moldova, Montenegro, the Republic of North Macedonia, San Marino, Serbia, Türkiye and Ukraine.
- 3. We would like to start by thanking the chair of the Joint Meeting, Ms Imelda Smolčić Nijers, for her excellent leadership in guiding the Joint Meeting and the good collaborations between the members of the Committees.
- 4. We will only comment some of the items since the others will be dealt with under other parts of the agenda.
- 5. The European Union and its Member States take note of the feasibility study on the integration of administrative services among the Rome based Agencies. We encourage the RBAs to continue to seek ways for collaboration at national and regional level, while recognizing that cooperation and collaboration should be done within UN efficiency agenda and also in the wider UN context.

- 6. We welcome that the Country Programming Frameworks are now available on the FAO webpage as requested by members and asks that it be updated regularly.
- 7. We also welcome the update on the work of the UN Food Systems Coordination Hub in support of sustainable food systems transformation. We support the approach of the Hub to complement rather than duplicate existing structures and to work closely with Resident Coordinators and UN Country Teams in supporting the implementation of countries National Pathways.
- 8. With these comments, the European Union and its Member States endorse the Report of the Joint Meeting of the 135<sup>th</sup> Session of the Programme Committee and the 195<sup>th</sup> Session of the Finance Committee.

Thank you, Mr Chair.